Angry Gaijin

Cameron Ohara

Are You the First Person to Eat Christmas Fried Chicken??

Are you the foreigner that swept the Japan Nation off their deep fried drumsticks? If yes, see below.

Did you know that eating fried chicken at Christmas is a modern Japanese tradition?

If you did, don’t be surprised. A lot of people know this. What I want to know and share with you carries much more weight.

Are YOU this man??

According to several websites ( ) the Japanese tradition of eating fried chicken at Christmas was the result of one or more Westerners opting for KFC as a second best Christmas dinner in a nation without roast turkeys.  The place?  An Aoyama KFC.  The time?  The 1970s.

According to my extensive research people alive in the 1970s are still alive today.

Which is why I am starting an all-out world-wide hunt for the person or people who started the fried chicken trend in Japan.  Were you in Aoyama in the ’70s?  Were you the first to order KFC at Christmas time?  Can you say, “Yes! I started the tradition of eating fried chicken at Christmas in Japan!” ..?

I am looking for you. :)

Other fast food joints have picked up on the fried chicken Chirstmas trend.  Click here to watch the Mos Burger Merry X’mos commercial.

KFC Christmas Advert

What food do you eat for Christmas?  If you don’t celebrate Christmas, is there another special food you eat this time of year?

33 responses to “Are You the First Person to Eat Christmas Fried Chicken??

  1. joe February 3, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Actually we had KFC for Christmas this year! It was a pretty slick operation on the top floor of that KFC with the ‘Christmas Buckets’ inside the biggest cardboard boxes I ever saw. Taste was good, next time we’ll try Mos Burger’s ChristMOS haha.

    Hope you find the originator. ‘According to my extensive research people alive in the 1970s are still alive today.’ – this made me laugh a lot. : )

    • angrygaijin February 5, 2013 at 12:03 pm

      Haha, always happy to hear that I made someone laugh. :D

      I honestly haven’t tried proper KFC in Japan yet! I tried one of their sandwiches, but that’s it. I want to try the MOS chicken too of course! But woe, I’ve been too busy trying to track ‘the originator’ down!

  2. ristinw December 29, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    I will appreciate every eatable thing I have on Christmas!!! :D
    But, fast food not my type of tea as it will make me fat…..

  3. Haruko-chan December 29, 2012 at 12:48 am

    In Belgium we have a special dessert at Christmas time. It is an icecream treat shaped like a tree log, fittingly named ‘Christmas log’. Here’s an example: http://bit.ly/ZGrCwP

    Don’t aks me why we do this or where the tradition come from. I have no idea.

    • angrygaijin December 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      It’s made of ice cream?? No way! I swear that the Dairy Queens in Canada have/had something just like this. Delish!

      • Haruko-chan December 30, 2012 at 6:36 pm

        In that case, maybe it’s just a very common ice cream dessert, and we in Belgium have started eating it at Christmas dinner en masse, thinking it was a special Belgian thing. Aaah, the trivial birth of a tradition, such an anticlimax, really.

  4. Susie December 27, 2012 at 4:03 am

    We just had left overs for dinner yesterday. Last year we had prime rib… this year the dinner got moved to tonight and it will be turkey. I am a bigger fan of ham or prime rib than turkey for xmas but I guess that’s just me.

  5. Island Traveler December 26, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    I love KFC and it would be a treat to have one for Christmas. We had Lasagna, apple pie, banana cream pie and potato salad for Christmas day. We stayed home and just enjoyed the moment of being together. Merry Christmas my friend. I wish you and your family all the love, happiness, peace, great health and many awesome adventures today and everyday.

    • angrygaijin December 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Thank you very much! And you you as well. :) Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family too. That sounds like an awesome Christmas dinner! Banana Cream Pie and Potato Salad are sooooo yummy!

  6. reesan December 26, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    Can you also locate the person who popularised the japanese christmas sponge cake?

  7. Tom December 24, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I love dining out with the Colonel, but my true love on the holidays is a nice Honeybaked Ham.

  8. Kathryn December 23, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    I thought the reason for KFC at Christmas in Japan was that the colonel looked like Santa! You know all us gaijin look alike and two old guys with beards makes it mighty confusing.

    • Hikari Tennyo December 24, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      You have a point, there! Old dude with a white beard wearing red…

      As I see it, there probably wasn’t just one person responsible for the KFC thing. I mean, many American soldiers were probably in Japan at the time. If a bunch of them wanted to do something for Christmas, why not KFC?

  9. petit4chocolatier December 23, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Merry Christmas!!

  10. Mitzie Mee December 23, 2012 at 2:00 am

    It’s so weird. I remember how surprised I was when I asked a Japanese friend of mine about her plans for Christmas and got the answer: ” maybe KFC”. Wonder how KFC managed to sell in the idea of a bucket of drumsticks as THE Christmas menu..

  11. cocomino December 22, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    I eat chicken and cake at home. Of course, I like Kentcuky. .

  12. waterfallsandcaribous December 22, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    You know, the power of the internet is a strange and wonderful thing – I look forward to seeing whether ‘that’ person ends up contacting you! Mmmm…fried…chicken….

  13. kamo December 22, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    I have always been thoroughly suspicious of any food retail enterprise that is proud to serve its food in a bucket.

    That is all.

Make Negative Positive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

