Angry Gaijin

Cameron Ohara

Fish doughnuts? Only in Japan.

One more food of late that I wanted to share:

Yep. You read that right. Fish Doughnuts

They are surprisingly good!  No glaze or toppings.  Just fish flavour all sweet-ified into dough hole-punched for the store window.

This doughnut is ready and waiting to fill my hole.

12 responses to “Fish doughnuts? Only in Japan.

  1. Viky August 8, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    It look so goood ;D I munna taste it. ;’\

  2. ristinw July 21, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    I wonder how it taste!!!!

  3. Susie Eichel July 17, 2012 at 6:08 am

    I am very interested in this donut! I am not a fan of overly sweet snacks like donuts but it’s not glazed. So I may actually enjoy this donut, what kinda fish flavor does it have? Like oyster sauce or anchovies?

    • angrygaijin July 20, 2012 at 8:20 am

      Lol, no anchovies, that’s for sure… There’s just kind of a hint of fish in there. If you’ve ever tried Chinese-style fish crackers or cookies then you’re getting close. I don’t know if I’d go back to try them, but it was a good enough taste for a daring food-venturer. :)

  4. tom July 16, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I get weird snacks like these that show up in the local korean market. I did fish crackers once. I love the taste of bonito, but it was a different type of fish and couldn’t make it to the end of the bag. The shrimp ones were pretty good too.

    • angrygaijin July 16, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Hahah, “I did fish crackers once…” I love how you write about it as if it were a party drug.

      I like fish jerky… I haven’t had it in a while, but your comment made me think of it now….what is bonito again..?? I feel like I tried it once and liked it.

  5. Dustin July 16, 2012 at 1:55 am

    Eww. Japanese doughnuts are nasty! They are always cold and stale. Wait… these doughnuts taste like fish?! There is no god!

    But seriously, the Japanese do create a lot of inventive snacks. That is one of the things I miss the most about Japan.

Make Negative Positive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

