Angry Gaijin

Cameron Ohara

Super Mario Kyushu World

Trying out a new art style.

Take THAT MineCraft! Just to prove that I’m the one who did this, here’s the world building in action. First I had to find the sprites (easy), dismantle them and start reassembling.

Getting through it. This was pretty fun – kinda like putting lego together or building a model.

At this point I was starting to realize that the size of my map wasn’t so good. I shoulda used larger version of each sprite. Not only would have the map been easier to assemble, but it woulda looked a little bit more like Super Mario World. Ah well. Geez, the first screen caption says 7pm, and this one says 11. It’s 2 am now. :Q

Well the host of the sprites asks to give credit where credit is due, so I thank whoever ripped these sprites for supplying me with the tools I needed to try this out (a somewhat shifty link)!

8 responses to “Super Mario Kyushu World

  1. Grae June 26, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Ha! This is wicked awesome!

  2. ristinw June 25, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    I used to love playing Super Mario! I miss the mushrooms! : D

  3. tom June 25, 2012 at 3:33 am

    reminds me of when Google turned their maps into a jrpg for April Fools. Pretty cool!

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes June 24, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    I don’t exactly understand this much except for “sprite”. My son loves animations, & doing animations, & he made a sprite animation – but only once. He said it was hard work! A curious post! :)

Make Negative Positive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

