Angry Gaijin

Cameron Ohara

Black Out Speak Out – Canadians Unite

Black Out Speak Out – Canadians Unite

12 responses to “Black Out Speak Out – Canadians Unite

  1. petit4chocolatier November 8, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    We have become a technology society. And everything we do is on a computer; including work. We have no paper any longer! Sustainability : )

  2. ristinw June 6, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    That is really annoying. It affects so many users. :(

  3. tom June 5, 2012 at 1:00 am

    I was kinda loling when I heard protesting was banned after the school protests in montreal a few weeks ago. We had one of those in the states a few months ago where all the popular sites, like wikipedia, turned off their services for the day to protest the copyright laws. I dont think it was too successful. because the legislators will bring the same crap up under a different name when the uproar dies down.

    • Susie Eichel June 5, 2012 at 5:53 am

      The blackout we had was really annoying being as I work with computers. It was to help raise awareness and protest against SOPA and PIPA. Google, Reddit and tons of other smaller sites joined together to raise awareness about it.
      Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stop_Online_Piracy_Act

      • angrygaijin June 5, 2012 at 8:27 pm

        That’s too bad it was annoying for you~ I do wonder a little bit about the effectiveness of blacking out one’s website. But when I heard it was a chance to participate, since I have my own website, I was thrilled to be able to join in – – even if just a little. :)

    • angrygaijin June 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      If the legislators come back – all we gotta do is be ready for ‘em. :) There’s no single action that’ll make everything perfect. Gotta slug it out. ‘Never say die,’ right?

      • Susie Eichel June 8, 2012 at 1:33 am

        I found the blacking out effective only because it actually did raise awareness of an issue I had no idea about. (Shhh: I have an aversion to anything politics related) So in the sense that it caused me to click the black out banner and read about it, I will give it a thumbs up.

  4. chris June 4, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Is commenting violating the blackout?

Make Negative Positive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

